Economic Data and Statistics
General
- Statista
Easy to use statistics search engine with access to more than a million statistics and facts. - Sage Data
A repository of standardized and structured statistical data. This tool allows users to scan and search contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts.
- Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)
BEA prepares national, regional, industry, and international accounts that present essential information on such key issues as economic growth, regional economic development, inter-industry relationships, and the Nation's position in the world economy. - Economic Census
The U.S. Government's official five-year measure of American business and the economy. It is conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau, and response is required by law. - Economic Indicators
Federal level statistics for the United States, provided on a monthly and quarterly basis for selected economic sectors. - STAT-USA -- Links to Sources
Pulls together economic information from a wide range of U.S. government agencies. While the official STAT-USA website no longer exists, a librarian at UCF maintains this guide with up-to-date links to all the relevant sources of information. Thanks UCF!
- Historical Statistics of the United States
Statistical tables covering population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, economic sectors, and governance and international relations. Data from as early as 1600, and as late as 2002, with the majority falling between 1790 and 1990.
Business Statistics of the United States by Call Number: HC101 .A14ISBN: 1598888781Publication Date: updated annuallyProvides over 80 years of annual, quarterly, and monthly data in industrial and demographic detail including key indicators such as: gross domestic product, personal income, spending, saving, employment, unemployment, the capital stock, and more.
- FRED
This site offers a wealth of economic data and information to promote economic education and enhance economic research. The widely used database FRED is updated regularly and allows 24/7 access to regional and national financial and economic data. - FRASER
FRASER preserves and provides access to economic and banking data and policy documents from the Federal Reserve System.
- ALFRED
Economic Data Time Travel! ALFRED allows you to retrieve vintage versions of economic data that were available on specific dates in history. In general, economic data for past observation periods are revised as more accurate estimates become available. As a result, previous vintages of data can be superseded and may no longer be available from various data sources. Vintage or real time economic data allows academics to reproduce others' research, build more accurate forecasting models, and analyze economic policy decisions using the data available at the time. - Prices and Wages by DecadeThis guide, compiled by staff and students at the University of Missouri, points to U.S. government publications showing average retail prices for common items or "necessities of life." Side-by-side with price data, you will find links to average wages, salaries, hours and earnings for workers in the same decades.
Business and Industry
- Data Axle Reference Solutions
Directory information for publicly and privately owned companies in the United States, as well as information about individual consumers. Formerly called Reference Solutions / ReferenceUSA. - Passport
Country, industry, and consumer statistics and market research: Passport offers integrated access to internationally comparable statistics, full-text market reports, comment from expert industry and country analysts as well as thousands of sources of further information.
Finance
- FRASERFRASER preserves and provides access to economic and banking data and policy documents from the Federal Reserve System.
- FREDThis site offers a wealth of economic data and information to promote economic education and enhance economic research. The widely used database FRED is updated regularly and allows 24/7 access to regional and national financial and economic data.
- Federal Reserve
On this website you can find up-to-date bank data, business and household finance data, exchange rates, international banking data, interest rates, etc. - ALFREDEconomic Data Time Travel! ALFRED allows you to retrieve vintage versions of economic data that were available on specific dates in history. In general, economic data for past observation periods are revised as more accurate estimates become available. As a result, previous vintages of data can be superseded and may no longer be available from various data sources. Vintage or real time economic data allows academics to reproduce others' research, build more accurate forecasting models, and analyze economic policy decisions using the data available at the time.
International
- IMF Data
The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators.
- IMF eLibrary
The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary provides direct access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. You will find information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and more.
International Financial Statistics Yearbook by Call Number: HG3879 .I57ISBN: 9781513521381Publication Date: updated annually30 years of annual statistics for each country in the following categories: exchange rate, fund position, international liquidity, money and banking statistics, nonbank financial institutions, interest rates, prices and production, international transactions, government finance, national accounts, population.
- International Financial Statistics (Monthly) by International Monetary Fund
The monthly print edition contains over 1,000 pages of statistical data in each issue. It reports, for most countries of the world, current data needed in the analysis of problems of international payments and of inflation and deflation, i.e., data on exchange rates, international liquidity, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts. Information is presented in country tables and in tables of area and world aggregates. Available online: Annual data since 1948 and monthly data since 1957 at UK Data Service and at the IMF.
Balance of Payments Statistics Yearbook by Call Number: HG3882 .B34ISBN: 1513594028Publication Date: updated annuallyContains more than 425,000 data series including aggregate and detailed information for about 200 countries and reporting entities. BOP delivers data on international economic transactions including total goods, services, factor income, current and capital transfers, and changes in an economy's external financial claims and liabilities. Available online at the IMF.
- Balance of Payments Statistics Yearbook - OnlineThe last Balance of Payments print publication was made available in November 2018. The publication is now available online. The archive contains publications from 2017 to the present.
- World Economic Outlook by the International Monetary Fund
The World Economic Outlook (WEO) database contains selected macroeconomic data series from the statistical appendix of the World Economic Outlook report, which presents the IMF staff's analysis and projections of economic developments at the global level, in major country groups and in many individual countries. The WEO is released in April and September/October each year. Data are available from 1980 to the present, and projections are given for the next two years. Additionally, medium-term projections are available for selected indicators. - World Development Indicators
This is the primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates. - National Accounts Main Aggregates Database
The National Accounts Main Aggregates Database presents a series of analytical national accounts tables from 1970 onwards for more than 200 countries and areas of the world. Published by the United Nations.
Trade
- United States International Trade Data
Provides detailed statistics on goods and estimates of services imported to and exported from the U.S. - Comtrade
Comtrade, a United Nations database, is a repository of official international trade statistics and provides open access to detailed global trade data.
Labor and Employment
- Bureau of Labor Statistics
Provides statistics on labor and information on occupations and industries in the U.S. including employment, hours, earnings, consumer and producer price indexes, productivity, compensation and collective bargaining, injury and illness, and some international data as well. Also provides occupational and industry information.
- Longitudinal Employer-Household DynamicsThe Longitudinal Employer-Household Dynamics (LEHD) program is part of the Center for Economic Studies at the U.S. Census Bureau. The LEHD program produces new, cost effective, public-use information combining federal, state and Census Bureau data on employers and employees under the Local Employment Dynamics (LED) Partnership.
