Contains more than 200 tables and charts on a wide range of subjects relating to American politics and government. Use this resource to find data relating to the following topics: elections and political parties, campaign finance and political action committees, public opinion and voting, the media, congress, the presidency, the judiciary, federal and state finance, foreign policy, military, social and economic policy.
Provides a brief political history of each state and Congressional district in the U.S., with profiles of each of the incumbent Governors, Senators and Representatives. Information on elected officials includes biographic details, ratings by 11 interest groups and the National Journal, voting record, and election results.
This website is mandated by the Federal Funding Accountability and Transparency Act of 2006 to give the American public access to information on how their tax dollars are spent. The website provides quick and easy access to data from 2008 to the present. Historical data (from 2000 to the present) can be downloaded from the Data Archives. See also Fedspending.org, a legacy project, for data from 2000-2011.
Issued by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), the Budget of the United States Government is a collection of documents that contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year.
The Atlas is a (mostly) free resource providing results of U.S. Presidential Elections. Data is collected from many official sources and presented in one convenient location. Please note that Gleeson Library does not have an account or subscription for this website and cannot provide access to datasets which are sold on this website.
ElectionGuide is provided by the International Foundation for Electoral Systems (IFES), an international nonprofit dedicated to strengthening electoral democracy. Launched in 1998 through a grant from USAID and currently funded by the same, ElectionGuide is the most comprehensive and timely source of verified election information available online.
It provides content on: National elections around the world; Subnational elections of high interest; Political parties and candidates; Referendum provisions; News on election-related laws and developments around the world; Political institutions and electoral systems; Election results and voter turnout.
The Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance (IDEA) has collected and produced a number of information databases on different areas of democracy and elections worldwide. Find data for specific countries on topics such as voter turnout, electoral system design, political finance laws, quota systems for women, etc.