Research in the Time of COVID-19
The good news is that the majority of library research sources were already available online, and that hasn't changed. In particular, academic journal articles are almost exclusively online.
What has changed is that the library's print book collection is not accessible. Fortunately, more than half of the library's books are available as ebooks, and the book resources listed below will direct you to the best ways to locate them.
Terminology of Migration
Many of our databases use specific terminology for concepts around migration. Consider trying some of these terms if you're searching on this subject:
- emigration and immigration
- immigrants
- undocumented immigrants
- migration
- migration, internal
- forced migration
- refugees
Interdisciplinary Sources
Books
- ProQuest Ebook Central
ProQuest Ebook Central offers more than 140,000 ebooks (with unlimited user access) in a wide range of subject areas, along with powerful tools to help you find, use, and manage the information you need. - EBSCO eBook Collection
More than 165,000 academic ebooks in a wide variety of subjects with unlimited user access. - Ignacio: Library Catalog
The library catalog lets you search across the holdings of Gleeson Library and Zief Law Library, including books, videos, and other materials. Search online holdings only.
Journal Articles
- Fusion
Fusion allows you to search, in one place, the majority of the library’s books, articles, videos, etc. It includes all the materials in our library catalog Ignacio, as well as the content of the majority of our many databases.
Discipline-Focused Sources
- America: History and Life
America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. - Political Science Complete
Political Science Complete (PSC) provides full text for more than 520 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals), many of which are unique to the product. - SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. - Nexis Uni
Replaces LexisNexis Academic.
More than 15,000 news, business, and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Background Information
If you need basic background information on a topic (the kind of information you might think to go to Wikipedia for), please take a look at our academic encyclopedias.
- Gale eBooks
A great place to begin your research, Gale eBooks offers thousands of authoritative articles published in academic encyclopedias, and written by subject experts. Gale eBooks provides information you can not only trust, but cite in a paper as well. Formerly called GVRL: Gale Virtual Reference Library.
You can find more academic encyclopeidas here.