Gleeson Library: Bachelor of Science in Nursing: Bachelor of Science in Nursing

Databases

CINAHL Ultimate
CINAHL Complete is the world's most comprehensive nursing and allied health database. Your first choice for nursing research.
Tutorials:
Basic Searching
Advanced Searching

On-Campus Link

CINAHL Tutorials
by Claire Sharifi Last Updated Jul 20, 2022 79 views this year

PubMed
PubMed provides access to more than 23 million bibliographic citations from thousands of biomedical journals.
Tutorials

PubMed Instructional Videos
PubMed Tutorial from the National Library of Medicine

PubMed Tutorials
by Claire Sharifi Last Updated May 23, 2023 53 views this year

Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Find who's been cited and who's citing each article.
Comprehensive: Scopus has twice as many titles and over 30% more publishers listed than any other abstract and index (A&I) database, with interdisciplinary content that covers the research spectrum. Timely updates from thousands of peer-reviewed journals, preliminary findings from millions of conference papers, and the thorough analysis in an expanding collection of books ensure you have the most up-to-date and highest quality interdisciplinary content available.

On-Campus Link

Scopus Tutorials
by Claire Sharifi Last Updated Jul 20, 2022 8 views this year

APA PsycInfo
PsycINFO is the American Psychological Association's (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations.It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health
Included is information on the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, linguistics, anthropology, business, law and others. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages. APA PsycInfo is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.

On Campus Link

...more nursing databases

COVID-19

Select COVID-19 related literature and data

Rapid Reviews: COVID-19
An open access, rapid-review journal will accelerate peer review of Covid-19-related research and deliver real-time, verified scientific information that policymakers and health leaders can use. MIT Press and UC Berkeley
LitCovid
A comprehensive curated literature collection regarding the 2019 novel Coronavirus from the National Library of Medicine.
COVID-19 and Health Disparities
A collection of articles, podcasts, webinars, and additional resources on health disparities and COVID-19. From Harvard Medical School.

Reference Sources

DynaMed
DynaMed is a clinical reference tool created by clinicians for clinicians and health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. DynaMed provides clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,200 topics.
On-Campus Link

DynaMed Mobile Installation
by Claire Sharifi Last Updated Mar 26, 2024 18 views this year

Gale eBooks
A great place to begin your research, GVRL offers thousands of authoritative articles published in academic encyclopedias, and written by subject experts. Excellent for general information or background on a topic.

Visible Body: Anatomy and Physiology
Anatomy & Physiology by Visible Body is a tool that uses animations to review physiology and anatomical function. 3D anatomical models can be rotated, zoomed, and dissected.
Anatomy & Physiology includes:

50 chapters/modules that use 3D models, illustrations, and animations to present the core content in an undergraduate anatomy and physiology course
80+ 50-second animations that cover core physiology; 85+ 3D illustrations and 500+ 3D models that can be studied from any angle and varying zoom levels
On-screen controls for zooming, panning, rotating, and dissecting 3D models of twelve body systems (Cells and Tissue, Integumentary, Skeletal, Muscular, Nervous, Endocrine, Circulatory, Lymphatic, Respiratory, Digestive, Urinary, and Reproductive)
3D bony landmarks of the axial and appendicular skeleton
Audio pronunciations and definitions for hundreds of structures
65+ multiple choice and dissection quizzes with hundreds of questions
Notecard making feature

On-Campus Link

Books

Ignacio: Library Catalog
The library catalog lets you search across the holdings of Gleeson Library and Zief Law Library, including books, videos, and other materials.

Incredibly Easy! Series and other study guides

The goal of the Made Incredibly Easy, Made Incredibly Quick! and Made Incredibly Visual! books is to break down challenging clinical concepts - the ones that are often difficult or confusing to grasp - and present them in a refreshingly original, engaging format that is easy to understand.

Nursing Theories

Browse our list of print and electronic books on nursing theories and models.

Nursing Care Plans

Browse our list of print and electronic books on nursing care plans

NCLEX Resources

Find a comprehensive collection of the library's NCLEX study guides and resources.

Licensure Study Guides
by Claire Sharifi Last Updated Mar 26, 2024 33 views this year

Statistical Data

PolicyMap
Thousands of U.S. data indicators for demographic and socioeconomic analysis. PolicyMap data can be presented as maps, tables, charts and pre-built reports that can be incorporated into papers, presentations, blogs and websites. In addition, students can upload unlimited amounts of their own address-based data, and can share these maps with others.
An online (no software installation needed) U.S. national data and mapping tool and analytics platform with multidisciplinary applications for college students and faculty. It is used in undergraduate and graduate curriculum and research related to social sciences, urban studies, real estate and housing analysis, community and economic development, public administration, public health, policy and political science, education, business, economics, statistics, and geography, among others. Users can leverage thousands of U.S. data indicators in PolicyMap to perform demographic and socioeconomic analysis, from a neighborhood census block group in many cases, up to a national level, as well as create custom regions, for their research and studies.

PolicyMap’s data indicators accessible via easy to use menus organized in categories including demographics, income and spending, housing, lending, quality of life, economy, education, health, federal guidelines, and analytics. Data can be viewed on a census block or census tract level in many cases, city, county, zip, state, US, as well as by congressional district, school district, state house and state senate districts.
RAND State Statistics
This database contains information on California and U.S. public policy issues, including healthcare expenditures and utilization, health conditions, health insurance, Medicare, Medicaid, obesity and nutrition, and providers.
On-Campus Link
Data.census.gov
Data.census.gov is the new platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau. It replaces the American FactFinder website, which was retired in 2020.
The earliest data on data.census.gov will be from the 2000 Census. American Community Survey (ACS) Data will not be available prior to 2010 with the exception of the 2009 Comparison Profiles. All ACS data, including 2005 to 2009 data, are available in the Census Data API.

For detailed information about the new platform see this guide.

...more resources

Drugs and Pharmaceuticals

National Library of Medicine Drug Information Portal

Advanced and consumer information on 68,655 drugs and biologicals from the National Library of Medicine. Search by drug name, class, or category.

DailyMed

National Library of Medicine resource providing high quality information on marketed drugs, primarily label/package insert information.

Davis' Drug Guide for Nurses

Contains the information you need to administer medications safely across the lifespan -- well-organized monographs for hundreds of generic and thousands of trade-name drugs.

Laws and Legislation

California Nursing Practice Act with Regulations and Related Statutes 2016

The Nursing Practice Act (NPA) is the body of California law that mandates the Board of Registered Nursing (BRN) to set out the scope of practice and responsibilities for RNs.

ProQuest Legislative Insight
Congress produces a variety of publications as a bill moves through the legislative process on its way to becoming a law. A compilation of these full text primary source publications produces a legislative history that is valuable to a wide variety of researchers. Legislative Insight offers a research citation page that not only links to the full text of the associated primary source publications, but allows the user to do a Search Within from that very page that searches the full text of all the associated publications with one-click.
Full-text publication types associated with a legislative history include the Public Law, all versions of enacted and related bills, Congressional Record excerpts, and committee hearings, reports, and documents. All of these publication types can be used in court to determine the intent of Congress in enacting legislation in cases where the statutory language is ambiguous. Other full-text publication types are included in our legislative histories to provide users with background material are committee prints, CRS reports, and miscellaneous congressional publications. Presidential signing statements are also included.
California Legislative Information
Status, history, votes, analyses, etc., of California legislation. Includes California Code.
ProQuest Congressional
ProQuest Congressional is especially useful for performing legislative histories and locating Congressional documents. It is also very useful for tracking legislation and major public policy issues, locating recent Congressional documents and related material in full text, and learning more about Congress and the legislative process.
ProQuest Congressional provides comprehensive indexing and abstracting of Congressional publications, CIS legislative histories, and bill tracking. It includes the full text of Congressional reports, documents, prints, bills, the Congressional Record, selected testimony in hearings before Congress, Public laws, Statutes at Large, the United States Code Service, the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, and the National Journal. It also provides information about members of Congress, Congressional committees, and recent legislative activities and public policy issues in the news.

Citing Sources

RefWorks

RefWorks
RefWorks allows users to create personal databases to manage, store, and share the information citations/references. Users can automatically insert references from their database into their papers and generate formatted bibliographies and manuscripts in seconds. See our RefWorks Guide for information about creating accounts, adding references, and using add-ons.

APA Resources

APA 7th Edition: Formatting In-Text Citations

APA 7th Edition: Formatting References

Purdue Online Writing Lab
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) APA 7th edition resources. Use the links on the left side of the page to find information on different aspects of APA style.
Excelsior Online Writing Lab: APA Style
You will often use sources for academic writing, and it’s important to know how to responsibly cite and integrate those sources into your own writing. APA format provides guidelines and structures for citing those sources in a way that helps you avoid plagiarism and give proper credit to your sources.
USF Learning, Writing, & Speaking Center: APA Basics
A 6.5 minute video on APA formatting & citing.

Bachelor of Science in Nursing