Databases
- CINAHL Ultimate
CINAHL Ultimate is the definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for the most used journals in the CINAHL index. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments.
- PubMed
PubMed provides access to more than 23 million bibliographic citations primarily drawn from MEDLINE, as well as publisher-supplied citations, in-process and "ahead-of-print" citations.
- Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
- APA PsycInfo
PsycINFO is the American Psychological Association's (APA) resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations. It is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
The Cochrane Library is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence, including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE).
Reference Sources
- DynaMed
DynaMed is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. With clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,200 topics, DynaMed provides the latest content and resources with validity, relevance and convenience, making DynaMed an indispensable resource for answering most clinical questions during practice.
- Gale eBooks
A great place to begin your research, Gale eBooks offers thousands of authoritative articles published in academic encyclopedias, and written by subject experts. Gale eBooks provides information you can not only trust, but cite in a paper as well. Formerly called GVRL: Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Books
- Ignacio: Library Catalog
The library catalog lets you search across the holdings of Gleeson Library and Zief Law Library, including books, videos, and other materials.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by ISBN: 9780890425541Publication Date: 2013-05-22DSM-5 is used by health professionals, social workers, and forensic and legal specialists to diagnose and classify mental disorders.
Incredibly Easy! Series and other study guides
The goal of the Made Incredibly Easy, Made Incredibly Quick! and Made Incredibly Visual! books is to break down challenging clinical concepts - the ones that are often difficult or confusing to grasp - and present them in a refreshingly original, engaging format that is easy to understand.
Browse our list of print and electronic books on nursing theories and models.
Browse our list of print and electronic books on nursing care plans
NCLEX Resources
Find a comprehensive collection of the library's NCLEX study guides and resources.
COVID-19
Select COVID-19 related literature and data
- Rapid Reviews: COVID-19An open access, rapid-review journal will accelerate peer review of Covid-19-related research and deliver real-time, verified scientific information that policymakers and health leaders can use. MIT Press and UC Berkeley
- LitCovidA comprehensive curated literature collection regarding the 2019 novel Coronavirus from the National Library of Medicine.
- COVID-19 and Health DisparitiesA collection of articles, podcasts, webinars, and additional resources on health disparities and COVID-19. From Harvard Medical School.
Statistical Data
- PolicyMap
Thousands of U.S. data indicators for demographic and socioeconomic analysis. PolicyMap data can be presented as maps, tables, charts and pre-built reports that can be incorporated into papers, presentations, blogs and websites. In addition, students can upload unlimited amounts of their own address-based data, and can share these maps with others.
- Data.census.gov
Data.census.gov is the new platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau. It replaces the American FactFinder website, which was retired in 2020.
- Google SearchThere is a great deal of statistics and data on the open web. Use the advanced search tricks discussed in the below video to find it.
- RAND State Statistics
This database contains information on California and U.S. public policy issues. The database is divided into three primary sections: 1) California Statistics, also called Databases; 2) Online Library; and 3) What's New. You may also search the entire database and some archived reports.
Drugs and Pharmaceuticals
National Library of Medicine Drug Information Portal
Advanced and consumer information on 68,655 drugs and biologicals from the National Library of Medicine. Search by drug name, class, or category.
National Library of Medicine resource providing high quality information on marketed drugs, primarily label/package insert information.
Contains the information you need to administer medications safely across the lifespan -- well-organized monographs for hundreds of generic and thousands of trade-name drugs.
Laws and Legislation
California Nursing Practice Act with Regulations and Related Statutes 2016
The Nursing Practice Act (NPA) is the body of California law that mandates the Board of Registered Nursing (BRN) to set out the scope of practice and responsibilities for RNs.
Legislative Insight offers a compilation of full text primary source publications that are produced as a bill moves through the legislative process on its way to becoming a law. Legislative Insight offers a research citation page that not only links to the full text of the associated primary source publications, but allows the user to do a Search Within the page to find the full text of all the associated publications.
Use THOMAS to tracking legislation in Congress, perform legislative histories, locate recent Congressional documents full-text, determine Congressional committee membership and activities, and related information about Congress and the legislative process.
California Legislative Information
Status, history, votes, analyses, etc., of California legislation. Includes California Code.
Videos
Nursing Assessment in Video provides access to a series of training videos from Medcom Trainex, Each title provides hands-on demonstrations and step-by-step instructions in key assessment areas.
Scholarship Repository
View completed MSN Capstone Projects and learn about the submission process.
View past projects
- Scholarship Repository HomepageThe USF Scholarship Repository is an institutional repository service provided by the Gleeson Library | Geschke Center in collaboration with Dorraine Zief Law Library to digitally collect, preserve and provide electronic access to scholarly works and research output by the University of San Francisco community.
- MSN Capstone ProjectsView completed USF School of Nursing and Health Professions MSN projects.
Submit your work
- SONHP Theses, Projects, and Dissertation Submission GuideSubmission instructions for the USF institutional repository.
Citing Sources
RefWorks
- RefWorks
RefWorks allows users to create personal databases to manage, store, and share the information citations/references. Users can automatically insert references from their database into their papers and generate formatted bibliographies and manuscripts in seconds. See our RefWorks Guide for information about creating accounts, adding references, and using add-ons.
APA Resources
APA 7th Edition: Formatting In-Text Citations
APA 7th Edition: Formatting References
- Purdue Online Writing LabPurdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) APA 7th edition resources. Use the links on the left side of the page to find information on different aspects of APA style.
- Excelsior Online Writing Lab: APA StyleYou will often use sources for academic writing, and it’s important to know how to responsibly cite and integrate those sources into your own writing. APA format provides guidelines and structures for citing those sources in a way that helps you avoid plagiarism and give proper credit to your sources.
- USF Learning, Writing, & Speaking Center: APA BasicsA 6.5 minute video on APA formatting & citing.