Skip to main content

Environmental Health Databases Videos

TOXNET Videos

TOXNET is a collection of databases from the National Library of Medicine. Databases included in TOXNET cover chemicals, drugs, the environment and human health, poisoning, toxicology, and more. Many of the resources discussed in this guide are searchable through the TOXNET interface. The following video is a brief introduction to TOXNET, and it uses the chemical perchlorethylene as an example. 

TOXLINE and DART videos

Introduction to TOXLINE, part 1-3

TOXLINE contains 4 million references to literature on biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals. 

Part 1: The following video provides an overview of of TOXLINE. 

Introduction to TOXLINE, part 2: Applying filters and limits to a search

Introduction to TOXLINE, part 3: Reviewing and managing TOXLINE results. 


Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology Database (DART)

DART is a collection of over 200,000 references to scientific, scholarly literature covering teratology, and other aspects of developmental and reproductive toxicology. 

Hazardous Substances Databank (HSDB)

HSDB contains peer-reviewed toxicology data for over 5,000 hazardous chemicals. Each entry in HSDB includes the structure, human health effects, environmental fate & exposure, environmental standards & regulations, and more.

Haz-Map Videos

Haz-Map links jobs and hazardous tasks with occupational diseases and their symptoms