Skip to main content

Government Information

USF's Collection

The majority of government documents in the library are U.S. Government documents received through the Federal Depository Library Program.  Gleeson Library | Geschke Center is a selective depository and one of about 1,140 federal depository libraries throughout the nation.  The library was designated a Federal Depository Library in 1963. The Government Documents depository collection serves California's 12th Congressional District.

Local, regional, state, federal, international intergovernmental organization, and foreign government documents are cataloged and shelved throughout the library.  Many federal documents that are legal in nature are cataloged and housed at USF's Dorraine Zief Law Library.

What is a Government Document?

A government document is information issued, published, or financed by a government agency. Gleeson Library|Geschke Center collects government information in many formats: printed paper publications, posters, maps, CDs, DVDs, and online via the Internet. Local, regional, state, federal, international intergovernmental organization, and foreign government documents are cataloged and shelved throughout the library.

Access

As a Federal Depository Library, the Government Documents collection is open to the USF community and the general public. See Gleeson Library|Geschke Center Hours and the Dorraine Zief Law Library Hours.

Locating Government Documents and Information

Documents are shelved in various locations in Gleeson Library and Zief Law Library, and are cataloged in Ignacio, USF Libraries' online catalog

Circulation Policy

Most documents may be borrowed by authorized library borrowers. For check out, please take selections to the Circulation Desk.

Maps

A map cabinet on the first floor of Gleeson Library contains maps from the Government Documents collection, including California topographic maps.

Media

Government documents on CD or DVD are available at the library Circulation Desk.  In Ignacio, the location for these materials appears as "Documents Media Circ Desk".

Tax Forms and Information

Every January through April, the Government Documents Department provides tax forms and instructions to USF and neighboring communities.  The forms are available immediately inside the door to the library.

Most tax forms are also freely available online. For online access, please refer to our guide, Tax Forms.

Citing Government Information

For a list of resources to assist you in citing information found in government publications in print or online, please see our guide, Citing Government Information.

Collection Development Policy

For more information about the scope of the collection and the services provided, please refer to the Collection Development Policy.

Questions?

If you need assistance, please contact the Reference and Research Services Department by calling (415) 422-2039 or emailing.

If we do not have the document you are looking for, we will be happy to help you search to see which other depository libraries have it or if it is available on the Internet.