The USF Scholarship Repository is an institutional repository service provided by the Gleeson Library | Geschke Center in collaboration with Dorraine Zief Law Library to digitally collect, preserve and provide electronic access to scholarly works and research output by the University of San Francisco community.
The Library's special collections are housed in the Donohue Rare Book Room, and feature more than 17,000 items including books, manuscripts, photographs, drawings, engravings, and other artworks.
The Gleeson Library Digital Collections hold digitized special collections materials from the Donohue Rare Book Room, electronic publications and other academic works by USF faculty and students, and digitized archival materials related to university and local history. Browse all collections.
Gleeson Library | Geschke Center is a selective depository and one of about 1,140 federal depository libraries throughout the U.S. The library was designated a Federal Depository Library in 1963, and the Government Documents depository collection serves California's 12th Congressional District.
The primary purpose of the Archives is to collect, preserve and make available the historical records of the institution, in all of its various forms, since its 1855 founding as Saint Ignatius Academy on Market Street in San Francisco.
The USF Seed Library is a joint project of the USF Urban Agriculture Program and Gleeson Library | Geschke Center. All USF students, faculty and staff are welcome to use the seed library. It is located on the first floor of Gleeson Library, just beyond Thacher Gallery.
Check-out games from the Library.
Zines are short-run, independently published magazines on a variety of subjects. Common themes include art, comics, short stories, cultural criticism, and social commentary. The Gleeson Zine Library collects and loans print medium zines on a variety of topics with some emphasis on social justice and critical theory. We look for ways to foster community by engaging and partnering with USF classes and groups. We encourage submissions by members of the USF community.
The Library's Microfilm and Microfiche collection includes more than one hundred periodical titles (including newspapers), and is located in cabinets on the lower level of the building. Microfilm and microfiche holdings for periodical titles are noted in the library's catalog, and are available for viewing, printing, or scanning.
The Library's bound periodicals collection is kept in an offsite storage facility. Holdings for these titles are noted in the library's catalog, and are available upon request.