Skip to main content

Reference & Research Services

What We Do

The Reference & Research Services Department teaches students and faculty how to find and use information, and connects them with the services and resources of the library. We do this primarily through Reference, Instruction, and Outreach services. 

Venn diagram: Reference, instruction, and outreach all intersect at the reference desk.

Reference

reference imageReference services begin in-person at the 1st floor reference desk, and continue online. Visit us either way, and we will help you find information, and connect you with the resources and services you need. More

Instruction

instruction imageLibrarians are available by appointment to students and faculty for individual or small-group research consultations; and every year we partner with faculty to teach hundreds of classes how to do research. More

Outreach

outreach imageWe are present throughout the year at orientations and events—with a focus on students' first year experience—to help connect students to our resources and services; and the library's liaison program pairs a librarian with each of USF's schools and academic programs to make connections at the discipline level. More

Reference Desk

reference desk imageReference, instruction, and outreach all come together at the Reference Desk, where we welcome you to our staff & services, and our facilities & collections. More

 

reference staff

Who We Are

""The Reference Department includes nine librarians, two library assistants, and seven student assistants, all looking forward to meeting you in-person and online.

Reference & Research Services – (415) 422-2039

Name & Position Phone & Email
staff photoRandy Souther
Head of Reference and Research Services
(415) 422-5388
southerr@usfca.edu
person readingNicola Andrews
Instruction & First Year Experience Librarian
(415) 422-5387
nandrews1@usfca.edu
staff photoMatthew Collins
Reference Librarian
(415) 422-6923
collinsm@usfca.edu
staff photoAmy Gilgan
Reference Librarian & Education Liaison
(415) 422-6963
akgilgan@usfca.edu
staff photoColette Hayes
Reference Librarian
(415) 422-6945
chayes3@usfca.edu
staff photoAnnie Pho
Instruction Coordinator & Assessment Librarian
(415) 422-2759
apho2@usfca.edu
staff photoPenny Scott
Reference Librarian & Business Liaison
(415) 422-5389
plscott@usfca.edu
staff photoEric Shappy
Reference & Instruction Scheduling Coordinator
(415) 422-2045
shappy@usfca.edu
staff photoClaire Shariffi
Reference Librarian & Nursing and Health Sciences Liaison
(415) 422-5399
cosharifi@usfca.edu
staff photoCarol Spector
Reference & Government Information Librarian
(415) 422-2040
csspector@usfca.edu
staff photoAriana Varela
Reference Student & Technology Coordinator
(415) 422-2236
akvarela@usfca.edu