Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Professional Development

OPE Staff Development Committee 

Statement of Purpose

The OPE Staff Development Committee arose from the strategic planning tactics assigned to the Staff Development Working Group. We believe it is necessary to create a committee that helps bridge the gap of professional development opportunities and resources available to library assistants. There is a need for maintaining a robust professional development and mentorship program that works towards retention of staff and faculty of color. We strive to situate the committee’s work within a critical framework that promotes diversity, equity, and inclusion in libraries. We recognize the importance of empowering staff with the professional and interpersonal skills necessary to institutionalize Gleeson Library | Geschke Center’s mission. Our aim is to foster a culture where every member of our library community feels supported and inspired to achieve additional personal and professional skills.

Current Members

Name & Position Phone & Email
staff photoJuan Garcia
Chair
(415) 422-6912
jegarcia6@usfca.edu
staff photoReimi Akin
Co-Chair
(415) 422-5675
rakin@usfca.edu
staff photoDavid Ferguson
Editor in Chief
(415) 422-5677
dlferguson@usfca.edu
staff photoFabiola Hernandez-Soto
OPE Representative
(415) 422-5673
fhernandez1@usfca.edu
staff photoMichelle Lam
Webmaster
(415) 422-5678
mlam5@usfca.edu
staff photoEric Shappy
Treasurer
(415) 422-2045
shappy@usfca.edu
staff photoAriana Varela
OPE Representative
(415) 422-2236
akvarela@usfca.edu

 

Meeting Minutes: 

See the approved meeting minutes